Festival map apps, ranked on the map
Every platform at a glance first, then what each one is actually like to buy and use. Click a name to jump to its review.
| # | Platform | Score | Published price | Festival map | CRM depth | Offline |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| 1 | Leap / Greencopper | 8.5 | Quote-only Quote only (apps); Ticketleap $1 + 2% cap $20 | Interactive venue maps | Via Marcato | Offline-first by design |
| 2 | Appmiral (CM.com) | 8.2 | Expensive €375 / €625 / €935 per mo, annual. Map only at €935 (~€11.2K/yr). | Interactive map, top tier only | No | Yes |
| 3 | Grandstand Apps | 7.9 | Moderate container $500 / $1,000 / $1,750 / $2,500 / $3,250+ per yr · standalone $1,500 / $2,000 / $2,750 / $3,500 / $4,250+ per yr, five tiers sized by attendance (10K → 500K+); design and content loading $0–$500 each | Native map with pin layer, every tier | Lists only — vendor lists, sponsor/donor lists, Food Finder with tags; no vendor application, volunteer, or contracting workflow found | Yes — content cached in-app by design ("works just as well offline") |
| 4 | Map D | 7.6 | Moderate PUBLISHED platform: $1,250 / $1,999 / $2,499 per EVENT (Starter/Growth/Scale); white-label app, container app, ticketing, lead retrieval, AI matchmaking = quote-only add-ons; "No Map D fees, only standard gateway rates" | Interactive floor plan with wayfinding; app is an add-on | Exhibitor/vendor portal (assets, staff, products, status), online booth sales with invoicing, sponsor profiles and sponsorship sales, artist portal per its festival page | ? |
| 5 | FestivalPro | 6.5 | Moderate $600–$5,040/yr across 5 tiers + Custom, + 2% fee all tiers | Basic markers, no GPS | Deep | Unknown |
| 6 | Eventbase | 6.1 | Very expensive Quote only; self-declared $5K–$50K+ | Indoor blue-dot navigation (premium tier) | No | Yes |
| 7 | Eventeny | 5.1 | Moderate Free / $720 / $1,440 / $2,880 per yr + 3% transaction fees | Static illustrated layout, no GPS | Vendor/volunteer/sponsor | Unknown |
| 8 | Aloompa (WMT Digital) | 5.0 | Quote-only Quote only | GPS pins as a paid upgrade | No | Partial |
Before you compare: how to judge a festival map
Almost every platform on this list says it "supports maps." The differences hide in the details, and they are worth checking on a demo before you sign anything:
- Is it a live map or a picture? Several platforms here "support maps" by letting you upload an image. If there is no moving dot showing an attendee where they are, it is a picture.
- What happens when you tap a pin? On most festival maps, a marker shows the location’s name and nothing else. A map starts earning its keep when a pin opens into something useful: who is playing, what a vendor sells, photos, set times.
- Who types in the data? Every platform in this ranking hands you an empty system. Budget the staff hours to enter each band bio, photo, and booth listing by hand.
- Is the map included, or an upsell? It depends on the vendor. Grandstand includes its map at every tier, and Map D includes an interactive floor plan from its entry tier. Others sell the map as a paid module, gate it at the top tier, or have none. Check which tier yours actually arrives at.
1. Leap / Greencopper 8.5/10
Best for: Festivals that want a battle-tested offline-first app (and ticketing with it)
leapevent.tech · Pricing: Quote only (apps); Ticketleap $1 + 2% cap $20
Greencopper, now part of Leap, built its festival app offline-first on purpose, because festival grounds have terrible signal. It shows: 300+ events across 26 countries run on it, and it has the most complete sponsor inventory in the category, from sponsored map pins to push campaigns, with the organizer keeping the revenue. The app increasingly comes bundled with Leap’s ticketing stack, which is where the real business is.
- Offline-first by architecture: the map and schedule work with no signal
- Interactive venue maps included
- The most explicit sponsor inventory in the category (sponsored pins, headers, push), and you keep the money
- App pricing is quote-only
- The app is a doorway to the ticketing bundle (ShowClix / Ticketleap per-ticket fees)
- Little back-office CRM beyond artist advancing via Marcato
Bottom line: The offline benchmark. Just understand you may be buying a ticketing relationship, not only an app.
2. Appmiral (CM.com) 8.2/10
Best for: European music festivals that want a polished attendee app
appmiral.com · Pricing: €375 / €625 / €935 per mo, annual. Map only at €935 (~€11.2K/yr).
Appmiral powers the attendee apps at Tomorrowland and Rock Werchter, and unlike most app vendors it publishes its prices: €375–€935 per month, billed annually. The app is genuinely good, with offline support and sponsor tooling backed by real ROI dashboards. But the interactive map only exists on the top tier, which works out to roughly €11,200 a year before your attendees see a map.
- Proven at the biggest festivals in Europe (Tomorrowland, Rock Werchter)
- Published pricing: rare among attendee-app vendors
- Strong sponsor playbook (splash screens, map POIs, push, ROI dashboards), and the organizer keeps the sponsor revenue
- The interactive festival map is gated to the top tier (~€11.2K/yr)
- Usage metering: overage charges past 50,000 monthly active users
- No back-office tools: no vendor, volunteer, or sponsor management workflows
Bottom line: A first-class festival app with transparent pricing. Budget for the top tier if the map is why you’re buying.
3. Grandstand Apps 7.9/10
Best for: County and state fairs that want a priced attendee app with a map
grandstandapps.com · Pricing: container $500 / $1,000 / $1,750 / $2,500 / $3,250+ per yr · standalone $1,500 / $2,000 / $2,750 / $3,500 / $4,250+ per yr, five tiers sized by attendance (10K → 500K+); design and content loading $0–$500 each
Grandstand builds the attendee apps for the Iowa, Minnesota, Illinois, and Ohio State Fairs, and it publishes the clearest fair-app price book in the category: $500 to $3,250+ a year inside its shared Grandstand Events app, or $1,500 to $4,250+ a year as your own App Store app, with tiers sized by attendance. The map sits on native Google and Apple maps with searchable pin groups, and the app caches content so it works when the signal drops. What it is not is festival management software: vendors, sponsors, and volunteers are lists here, not workflows, and every pin’s detail is typed in by your team or loaded by Grandstand for a fee.
- Published two-track pricing: container $500–$3,250+/yr, stand-alone $1,500–$4,250+/yr, sized by attendance
- Native map with pin groups, search, and filters at every tier, plus a Food Finder that searches vendors by menu item
- Offline by design, with state-fair references (Minnesota, Iowa, Illinois, Ohio, The Big E)
- No back office: vendor and sponsor lists only, no applications, contracts, or volunteer scheduling
- Whether the map shows a live position dot is not stated on the site, and every vendor bio and photo is entered by hand (content loading costs $0–$500 by tier)
- The Bronze tier has no push notifications, and attendance, event, storage, and admin caps rise tier by tier
Bottom line: The fair-app benchmark on price. Pair it with something else for the office, and ask on the demo what a pin actually opens into.
4. Map D newer entrant 7.6/10
Best for: Expos and association shows selling booths off a live plan
mapdevents.com · Pricing: PUBLISHED platform: $1,250 / $1,999 / $2,499 per EVENT (Starter/Growth/Scale); white-label app, container app, ticketing, lead retrieval, AI matchmaking = quote-only add-ons; "No Map D fees, only standard gateway rates"
Map D comes from the trade show world, and it shows in the best way and the limiting way at once. Exhibitors pick and pay for booths on a live interactive plan, the same plan attendees navigate in the app, and the platform adds no fee of its own on booth sales. Pricing is per event, $1,250 to $2,499, and published. The branded app and the shared container app are both add-ons priced by quote, the wayfinding is demonstrated on exhibit halls rather than fairgrounds, and the festival page carries expo testimonials, not festival ones.
- Published per-event pricing ($1,250 / $1,999 / $2,499) with no platform transaction fee on booth sales
- Booth sales, exhibitor portal, invoicing, and the interactive map in one system, with API and website embeds from the lowest plan
- Sponsor inventory (premium listings, banners, takeovers) and exhibitor lead retrieval, with the organizer keeping the revenue
- The attendee app, branded or shared, is a quote-only add-on on top of the platform price
- Built for halls: outdoor GPS behavior is unconfirmed, and no named festival client appears on its site
- Per-event pricing compounds for an organizer running several events a year, and exhibitors enter their own profiles
Bottom line: Map D’s wayfinding is demonstrated on exhibit halls, and its site names no fairground client. Score it on what it shows, and ask for an outdoor reference before you buy it for a festival.
5. FestivalPro 6.5/10
Best for: The deepest back-office: vendors, volunteers, artists, ticketing
festivalpro.com · Pricing: $600–$5,040/yr across 5 tiers + Custom, + 2% fee all tiers
FestivalPro is the operations workhorse of this list. If your festival runs on vendor applications, volunteer shifts, artist advancing, and accreditation, this is the most complete toolset you can buy, and it’s trusted by 600+ events. Just go in knowing the sticker price isn’t the whole price, and the map is a marker map where a pin opens into the location’s name, no GPS.
- The deepest festival CRM feature set in the category: vendors, volunteers, contractors, artists, accreditation, forms, and contracting in one system
- Pricing is published: $600–$5,040/yr across five tiers
- Ticket money flows straight to your own Stripe or PayPal, with no processing markup
- A white-label branded attendee app is available as a premium option
- The map is a basic marker view: tap a pin and you get the location’s name, nothing more. No GPS wayfinding, and no band, food, or vendor detail behind the pin
- A 2% fee applies on every tier, and meters add up: storage by the GB, email caps, and support tickets that cost money
- Every artist bio and photo is typed in by hand, and API access is a paid add-on on the top two tiers
Bottom line: Seen from the map side, FestivalPro is the office that also sells an app: a marker map where a pin opens into the location’s name and nothing else, no live position, sold as a paid add-on on every tier.
6. Eventbase 6.1/10
Best for: Enterprise brands and city-scale events with enterprise budgets
eventbase.com · Pricing: Quote only; self-declared $5K–$50K+
Eventbase is the enterprise tier: SXSW, global brands like IBM and SAP, indoor blue-dot navigation, and an AI concierge (eventCopilot) that answers attendee questions. It is priced like what it is. The company’s own article puts platform cost at $5,000 to upwards of $50,000, with implementations that run around three months.
- Enterprise pedigree: SXSW, IBM, SAP, Cisco
- Blue-dot indoor navigation (licensed from Pointr) and offline support
- eventCopilot AI concierge is a real shipping feature, not a demo
- $5K–$50K+ by their own published numbers, with implementations that take about three months
- 3D maps are gated to the Premium edition; onsite and 24/7 support cost extra on both editions
- No festival CRM: vendors, volunteers, and sponsors live elsewhere
Bottom line: If you have an enterprise budget and an indoor venue, it delivers. Regional outdoor festivals are not who this is for.
7. Eventeny newer entrant 5.1/10
Best for: Craft fairs and markets that want a free on-ramp
eventeny.com · Pricing: Free / $720 / $1,440 / $2,880 per yr + 3% transaction fees
Eventeny is growing fast in craft fairs and artisan markets with an easy pitch: start on the free tier, manage vendors, volunteers, and sponsors, and lay out your grounds with its map maker. Paid plans run $720 to $2,880 a year, and a 3% transaction fee rides on nearly everything that moves (3–5% on the free tier), plus payment processing, which some vendor communities have pushed back on publicly. And know what the map maker is: a tool for drawing an illustrative booth layout, closer to designing a printable map than to giving attendees an interactive one.
- Published pricing: a free tier, then $720–$2,880/yr across three paid plans
- Covers vendor applications, volunteers, sponsors, and basic booth maps in one place
- A vendor marketplace brings some demand with it
- A 3% transaction fee on top of every paid plan (3–5% on the free tier, 5% on product sales), plus Stripe fees
- The map maker outputs a static illustrated layout: no GPS, no attendee wayfinding, no real site geometry, and reviewers find the drawing tools limited
- Reviewers cite clunky volunteer approvals, and vendor communities have publicly criticized fees at previously free events
Bottom line: Eventeny’s map maker is a drawing tool for the organizer. What the attendee gets is a static illustrated layout: no live position, nothing behind a tap, no vendor search.
8. Aloompa (WMT Digital) 5.0/10
Best for: Big US festivals that want the original festival app
wmt.digital · Pricing: Quote only
Aloompa built the first festival app ever (Bonnaroo, 2009) and still runs Summerfest and X Games. It pioneered food order-ahead (LiveOrder) and geofenced sponsor offers. Since the 2024 acquisition by WMT Digital, published pricing has disappeared and the company’s focus has visibly shifted toward college and pro sports.
- The longest track record in festival apps (Bonnaroo, Summerfest, X Games)
- F&B order-ahead exists (LiveOrder), with a claimed 30–40% consumption lift
- Geofenced sponsor offers and contests
- GPS maps are a paid upgrade above the static-map baseline
- No published pricing since the WMT acquisition; every price is a quote
- Post-acquisition attention is drifting toward sports properties
Bottom line: Deep festival DNA, but you’ll quote blind, and the map you want is an upsell.
Festival software feature comparison chart
Every platform, every feature we track, one chart. Hover a feature name for what it means.
● Full ◐ Partial ○ Announced — Not offered ? Unverified
| Feature | Leap | Appmiral | Grandstand Apps | Map D | FestivalPro | Eventbase | Eventeny | Aloompa |
|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|---|
| Ops CRM | ||||||||
| Vendor management + portal | — | — | — | ● | ● | — | ● | — |
| Volunteer management | — | — | — | — | ● | — | ◐ | — |
| Sponsor management | — | — | — | ◐ | ● | — | ◐ | — |
| Band/artist management | ◐ | — | — | ◐ | ● | — | — | — |
| Map & wayfinding | ||||||||
| Interactive GPS map (outdoor) | ● | ◐ | ◐ | ◐ | — | ◐ | — | ◐ |
| Depth behind the pin (enriched profiles) | — | — | ◐ | ◐ | — | — | — | — |
| Map fills itself (auto-population) | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| Offline maps / cached tiles | ● | ● | ● | ? | ? | ● | — | ◐ |
| Notifications & safety | ||||||||
| Push notifications (any) | ● | ● | ● | ● | ● | ? | — | ● |
| Organizer-controlled notification console | ◐ | ◐ | ● | ● | ◐ | ? | — | ● |
| Segmented / targeted sends | ● | ? | ● | ● | ● | ? | — | ● |
| Sponsored push as paid inventory | ● | ● | ? | ● | — | ? | — | ◐ |
| Emergency / safety alerting | — | ? | ◐ | ? | ● | — | — | ● |
| Monetization surfaces | ||||||||
| Sponsored pins / paid placement inventory | ● | ● | ● | ● | — | ● | ◐ | ◐ |
| Vendor lead capture (sold to vendors) | — | — | — | ● | — | — | — | — |
| Sponsor/vendor ROI analytics | — | ◐ | ◐ | ● | — | ◐ | — | — |
| Embedded payments on vendor/booth fees | — | — | — | ◐ | ◐ | — | ● | — |
| Platform & AI | ||||||||
| Open API below enterprise tier | — | ◐ | ? | ● | — | — | — | — |
| MCP / agent-accessible data | — | — | — | — | — | — | — | — |
| AI concierge (attendee Q&A) | — | — | — | — | — | ● | — | — |
| Attendee & commerce | ||||||||
| Ticketing | ● | ◐ | — | ◐ | ● | — | ● | — |
| White-label branded app | ● | ● | ● | ◐ | ◐ | ● | — | ● |
| Published transparent pricing | — | ● | ● | ◐ | ● | — | ● | — |
Adjacent tools worth knowing: maps, site planning & event apps
These aren’t festival platforms you would run an event on, but they come up constantly in adjacent searches: event map makers, site planners, and branded event apps. Here’s where each one actually fits.
OnePlan Site planning
To-scale site planning on satellite maps (barriers, tents, toilets, road closures, CAD import), used by 100,000+ events including Paris 2024. It now carries vendor placement fields on the plan, still no attendee-facing map or app; it’s the organizer’s drawing board. Free tier; Pro $99/mo.
ExpoFP Expo floor plans
The interactive floor-plan standard for expos and trade shows, with the most openly published price book in mapping: DIY from $149/mo by booth count, drawn-for-you maps $1.5K–$4.8K, indoor positioning $8.5K–$25K+. Built for exhibit halls, not festival grounds.
Attractions.io Theme-park apps
True GPS routing in a polished attendee app, built for permanent venues. Pricing is quote-only and sized to a year-round attraction, which is why festivals rarely sign it.
Mappedin Indoor mapping infrastructure
Developer infrastructure for indoor maps (free–$165 per map/mo, enterprise by square foot). You build on it; it isn’t an event product by itself.
Pointr Indoor positioning infrastructure
Beacon-based indoor blue-dot positioning: the technology inside Eventbase’s maps. Site surveys, hardware, and multi-week deployments put it firmly in enterprise territory.
Guidebook Event app · container & branded
A general-purpose event app builder (conferences, campuses, corporate events) offering both a shared container app and branded builds, with entry pricing published "from $3,750". Not festival-specific; no festival map story.
Eventee Event app · white-label
A lightweight event app with published white-label pricing at $2,000 per event, one of the clearest price points in the branded-app band. Built for conferences and meetings rather than fairgrounds.
LineUpr Event app · per-event plans
Per-event app plans published at $179 / $239 / $489 (Plus / Premium / Platinum). A budget way to get a branded event app; the organizer does the content work.
Whova Event app · conferences
A conference app heavyweight (agendas, networking, exhibitor lead capture) sold quote-only in a shared container model. Its sponsor and lead-capture tooling is what festival platforms get compared against, but the product targets conferences.
Sched Event app · schedules
Schedule-first event software with published tiers at $600 / $1,500 / $3,900 per year and a quote-only native-app plan. Strong for program scheduling; not a festival ops or mapping tool.
Festival map & event apps: frequently asked questions
What is the difference between a festival map app and festival management software?
Festival management software runs the office: vendor applications, volunteer shifts, sponsor contracts, ticketing. A festival map app is what the attendee holds: the map, the schedule, the lineup, push alerts. A few vendors sell both, and the map side is usually the weaker half. This page scores the map side only. The management software page scores the office.
Which festival apps have a live GPS map?
Fewer than the marketing suggests, and the wording matters. A live map shows the attendee where they are standing. On the management suites, none do: FestivalPro’s map is markers that open into a name, Eventeny’s is a designed layout, and ClearEvent and Event Essentials have no map. Among the apps, Leap/Greencopper includes interactive venue maps in its offline-first app, Aloompa sells GPS pins as a paid module above a static baseline, Appmiral’s interactive map exists only on its top tier (about €11,200 a year), and Eventbase’s blue-dot navigation, licensed from Pointr, sits in its premium enterprise edition. Grandstand Apps builds its fair apps on native Google and Apple maps with a pin layer at every tier, from $500 a year; whether that includes a live position dot is not stated on its site.
Is the interactive map included, or an upsell?
Ask this before the demo. Appmiral gates the interactive map to its top tier. Aloompa sells GPS as an upgrade. Eventbase puts 3D maps in its Premium edition. FestivalPro sells its attendee app, and the map inside it, as a paid add-on on every tier. EventHub’s live floor plan is a separate per-event license. Grandstand includes its native map at every tier, and Map D includes the interactive floor plan from its lowest plan while selling the attendee app as an add-on. The pattern across the category is that the map is where the upsell lives, so get the tier the map ships on in writing.
Does any festival map app fill in the vendor and band details for you?
No. Every vendor on this page hands the organizer an empty system. Grandstand sells content loading as a service, listed on its pricing page at $0 to $500 depending on tier. Map D has exhibitors and artists enter their own profiles through a portal. Everyone else expects your staff to type each bio, booth description, and photo by hand. Budget those hours as part of the price, because empty pins send the questions right back to the booth.
Do festival maps work with no cell signal?
Some do, and it is worth asking, though it rarely decides a purchase. Leap/Greencopper built its app offline-first because festival grounds have poor signal. Appmiral and Eventbase support offline maps. Grandstand caches content in the app so it works offline. The management suites with marker or static maps have no offline story to give. Ask how the map behaves once the crowd arrives and the signal drops, not only on a demo in the office.
How we score
Every platform is scored on five dimensions, each 0–10, computed from a structured feature-by-feature dataset we re-verify against vendor pricing pages, documentation, and public reviews (last pass: 2026-09-15):
- Maps & wayfinding (45%): shipping any map at all earns a base; interactive GPS, content depth behind the pins, offline support, and site planning build on it.
- Attendee experience (25%): ticketing, branded apps, engagement features.
- Ops & CRM (10%): vendor management, volunteers, sponsors, artist management, guest lists.
- Monetization & analytics (10%): sponsored placement, lead capture, ROI reporting, and marketplaces that help the organizer earn. (Core sponsor management is scored under Ops & CRM.)
- Pricing transparency & fees (10%): published prices score up; percentage fees and usage meters score down.
This page weights the map and the attendee experience, because that is what a map or app buyer is paying for. The same vendors are weighted toward operations on our management software ranking, so a platform can sit near the top of one page and lower on the other.
The overall score maps the weighted composite onto the band the category currently occupies: 5.0 to 8.5. The room above the band is deliberate: across this list, deep back-office tools tend to pair with a thin event-goer experience and vice versa, and we score against the rising bar on both sides, not just against the field. One rule governs everything here: we don’t grade what we can’t check. A capability we can’t verify for a specific vendor is marked unknown, and a dimension we lack the depth to score fairly is left out rather than guessed. Where a vendor publishes no price, we say so rather than guess. Corrections are welcome: email us and we’ll re-verify.
Price tiers in the table reflect typical effective annual cost for a mid-size event: Budget under $500 · Moderate $500–$4K · Expensive $4K–$10K · Very expensive $10K+ · Fee-based when percentage fees are the real price · Quote-only when no price is published.